Blog Settings: Basics
On the Blog Settings > Basics page, you can edit your blog's Name, Description, and Folder Name.
The Blog Name is the title that displays in your blog's text banner and in the Title bar of your web browser. It also shows as the title for your weblog in recently updated directories if you choose to make your weblog public.
The Blog Description is a short summary or catchphrase for your blog. It will display under the blog name if you choose to use a text banner. The description should give visitors an idea of what the blog is about. For example, "My three-month backpacking adventure across Europe."
The Folder Name is the name of the folder in which the blog's files are stored in your Typepad account. This folder name is appended to your Typepad web address and is used when you or your readers would like to visit or link to the blog.
For example, if your Typepad account URL was example.typepad.com, the folder name for a specific blog might be my_blog. The complete URL for the blog would then be http://example.typepad.com/my_weblog.
Important: Changing your folder name after your blog has been published will break incoming links and will negatively impact your search engine ranking. We provide this option for users who feel that it is crucial that they are able to change the path but also understand the consequences. Changing the name or description will not affect the blog's URL. Before changing the Folder Name, please read the article which outlines what happens after a change to the blog address.
Enabling the option for Protect this blog with a password will put your blog behind a log-in prompt. Visits will need to know the username and password before they can access the blog. Learn more.
A message can be added to your blog to welcome new visitors or highlight an important announcement to all readers. The message can be Embedded at the top of the main content column or a Popover message which will pop-up to first time visitors. Check the New Announcement box if you are adding a new message you want previous visitors to see as well as new visitors. Learn more.
If you wish to completely delete a blog, click the Delete this blog link. You'll be prompted to confirm the deletion as this can not be undone. Learn more.